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Speak To A Simulator Expert: 0800-288-8805
Loved by 10,000+ Happy Golfers
Solid net strong enough for practicing driver and every other club in the bag. Return slope very handy saving you having to collect balls, they roll straight back to your feet.Recommend also buying some heavy duty ground anchors or pegs to secure it if used in garden.
Liam
Fantastic quality, easy to install and fast delivery. Could not ask for much more. We also purchased a projector and protective enclosure that are brilliant. Creates a very professional looking set up.
Luke M.
Weather is no longer a problem for me, I can be in my garage and on the 7th at Augusta at the same time!
B Edwards
Great quality, easy to assemble was hitting balls within hours of delivery which was within 48hrs. Require a few more items to complete the perfect room. Will use again.
Mark W
Nice and easy to get set up. A few minor issues with software but easily sorted with a quick call to the team at golfbays. I recommend TGC2019 for game play. Not tried Skytraks own courses but I believe they are good.
Peter H
Happy with the quality of the turf and would highly recommend to others.
Scott W
This is an exceptional machine with fast delivery and outstanding customer service from Golf Bays. It’s my second purchase from Golf Bays, they deliver top marks all the time and I would highly recommend!
Jonathan
Just Installed this new Pro+ screen at my commercial golf simulator. The difference between the old one and this new one is astounding. Not only is it much quieter but the image projection is so much more clearer. It is installed quite tightly using the Bungee balls but there is no significant bounce back.I unequivocally recommend the Pro + impact screen.
Adam S.
The golf team enjoys practicing with the Puttout training mat. More practice means better putting on the course. The quality of the product is excellent.
Boliver
Our SimSquad has spent years testing every simulator on the market. We've selected only the finest options for homes, businesses, and all budgets. Take a look!
GolfBays makes golf simulation accessible for everyone.
Our global (but family-run) business provides unbiased advice on all simulator components – from screens to software. With PGA professional expertise informing our selections, we help create perfect practice spaces in homes and businesses across the UK and beyond.
Our support continues long after purchase – because your satisfaction drives us forward!
Loved by 10,000+ Happy Golfers
Watch customers put our simulators to the test.
Bespoke support from PGA Professionals.
SHOP BEST SELLERSLoved by 10,000+ Happy Golfers
The same technology trusted by weekend warriors to the world's best players. Track every shot with pinpoint accuracy for genuine improvement in your game.
Adapt your simulator to suit any space or budget. We design solutions for everything from garage spaces to bespoke commercial venues.
Feel like you're on the course with faithful ball flight physics and true-to-life graphics on the world's best virtual courses.
Built to withstand thousands of full-power drives. Our screens and enclosures keep performing long after inferior products fail.
Clear video guides and tool-free assembly mean you'll be hitting balls within hours, not days. No specialist knowledge required.
Spread the cost with interest-free payment options. Get your simulator now and pay in manageable monthly instalments.
Loved by 10,000+ Happy Golfers
Loved by 10,000+ Happy Golfers
The box was delivered very quickly including customs clearance, perfect.The SimBox exceeded my expectations, black ball protection very noise-insulating, Impact Screen Pro+ very good for Full HD.Thanks to the video tutorial, it can also be set up alone, but much more relaxed with two people. Simply perfect, highly recommended, thanks to the 6 sizes there is always a place at home, as long as the room height fits. Very convincing qualityIn short: brilliant for the home simulator.
Markus Kocher
Had the very original enclosure this is a big upgrade . Golfbays are hard to beat ….
Ian Moore
We bought this enclosure along with the rest on the set up for my golf club, Alderley Edge GC where it looks fantastic in the disused snooker room. It has had loads of use with no signs of wear and the guys were very easy to deal with. Would buy again.
Sean Hall
Just Installed this new Pro+ screen at my commercial golf simulator. The difference between the old one and this new one is astounding. Not only is it much quieter but the image projection is so much more clearer. It is installed quite tightly using the Bungee balls but there is no significant bounce back.I unequivocally recommend the Pro + impact screen.
Adam Smith
I've recently has a full Protee VX golf simulator room installed and i couldn't be happier, all i can say is WOW!Massive thanks to Rob and Harrison @Golf bays and the team for such an amazing experience, from sales to installation the whole process was seamless, the quality of the installation is 1st class.I would highly recommend Golf bays, thank you for a fantastic service.
Iain Hackett
See GolfBays in Action!
Unsure which setup suits your needs? Book a FREE consultation today! Our team will guide you through options tailored to your space and budget. Try our selection of technology out for yourself or ask questions directly on a consultation call – with no obligation whatsoever.
Loved by 10,000+ Happy Golfers
At GolfBays we will support you on every step of your simulator journey:
Our high-quality golf simulator products are trusted by PGA Professionals and renowned global brands whether its home practice or a coaching setup – GolfBays delivers equipment worthy of those who play for a living.
Quality simulators without the eye-watering price tag. From commercial setups to home solutions, we cover all budgets and spaces. Use our 0% finance and start improving today, regardless of budget constraints.
Our screens and enclosures take your hardest hits without complaint, built to withstand both shanks and perfect drives. Still swinging years later? That's our quality promise delivered.
Harrison
Sales & Golf Tech Specialist
Harrison@Golfbays.com
Harrison is a qualified PGA Professional with over 5 years of teaching experience in the golfing industry. Harrison brings with him over 10 years of industry golfing knowledge to help you build your own golf simulator incorporating the latest golfing technology to meet your requirements. Harrison’s daily duties include online consultations and in person demos on the latest technology. He also makes social media content for Instagram, Facebook, YouTube and the website, testing and reviewing new products. He has also attended Corporate Events for GolfBays including The Open at Albert Docks in Liverpool and at the Top of the Shard in London for Scottsdale Golf. Did you know that Harrison made his first TV debut on the shopping channel Ideal World! When not working Harrison enjoys playing golf and going out for food and drinks
Jack
Logistics & Customer Support
Jack@Golfbays.com
Jack brings with him over 10 years’ experience working in the hospitality industry in a customer facing role. He has a degree in Sports Business Management and Coaching. Jack is the “Jack of all trades” and his daily duties include providing his customer service expertise on livechat, phone calls, sales, international export and domestic shipping. Jack has even assisted Merv with a couple of golf simulator fit outs. Did you know that Jack is the first employee outside of the family business. Jack has worked for GolfBays for over 3 years and has grown with the business. In Jack’s spare time, he enjoys playing golf and rugby. He is also a massive Liverpool FC supporter. He enjoys travelling and has previously spent 8 months in Australia!
James
Creative Director
james@Golfbays.com
James had been working as a professional photographer & videographer for the last 6 Years. James has been involved with creating and editing content for Golf Bays for the last 2 years. James' daily duties include Filming and editing videos for Golf Bays social media & Youtube Channel, Photographing products for the website & running the new GolfBays Podcast - Putting It Into Perspective 👀 Outside of work James is a keen amateur golfer playing off a handicap of 4
Jamie
Sales - Tech Support
Sales@Golfbays.com
Jamie is a qualified PGA Professional with over 27 years of experience in the golfing industry. Jamie has been in the golf simulator industry for over 10 years working with Pro-Tee in sales & development. Jamies daily duties include online consultations and in person demos on the latest technology & providing tech support to all our cutomers either over the phone or video call. Jamie still competes in regular PGA competitions.
Jayne
Facilities
Sales@Golfbays.com
Jayne has over 15 years of experience working in a High School as a Teaching Assistant and brings with her a wealth of organisational expertise. Jayne’s daily duties include taking custom impact screen orders to our seamstress Sue to alter, assisting Merv in the warehouse with packing, general organisation in the office and assisting Rob with various tasks. Did you know that Jayne has a City and Guilds in Horticulture and when not working enjoys gardening, spending time with her grandchildren and going out for food and drinks.
Merv
Director - Warehouse
sales@Golfbays.com
Merv has over 40 years of experience as an engineer with metal and fabrication expertise. Merv is a co-owner of GolfBays and is responsible for the operations in our warehouse. His daily duties include packing your parcels, ensuring your orders are sent out, cutting your turf and designated forklift truck driver! Did you know that Merv came up with the business name “GolfBays”. In the earlier days our first ever golf bay was an indoor enclosure, as a protection against the weather. This was before the days when indoor studios had really caught on and those that were on the market were fearfully expensive. When not packing your parcels, Merv enjoys playing golf and going for drinks and food at his local pub.
Oliver
(Operations Director)
Oliver@Golfbays.com
Oliver ensures everything runs smoothly—from sales and shipping to supplier relations. With a background in telecoms and finance, he brings top-tier management expertise to GolfBays. He’s also had the unique experience of setting up a golf simulator at Elstree Studios for a Sky One show! Outside of work, Oliver enjoys football and spending time with his family.
Rob
Founder & Director
Rob@Golfbays.com
Rob is the Founder of GolfBays and has over 10 years’ experience working as a PGA Professional in the golfing industry. Rob has always had an entrepreneurial passion. Did you know that Rob initially started GolfBays as a side hustle hiring out inflatable golf apparatus for corporate days and selling golf screens on eBay which quickly developed. Due to rapid growth GolfBays is now one of the largest and most recognised independent golf simulator businesses in the UK and internationally of its kind. Rob oversees the business and provides ongoing support to GolfBays including strategic planning and business development. When not working Rob enjoys running and going out for drinks and food.
Victor
Marketing Nerd
victor@golfbays.com
Victor brings with him over 9 years of sports performance marketing experience, having managed over £37M in ad spend. Victor's daily duties include managing GolfBays marketing campaigns, tracking & analysing customer data to make sure you find what you’re looking for. When not working, Victor enjoys playing tennis and a medium-rare ribeye steak. He's originally from Moldova, likes reading biographies, investing in stocks & fish soup. His mother thinks he "works too much" and should "find a girlfriend!"
For comfortable swings with any club, we recommend:
For in stock items, please allow 1-4 days. We also offer worldwide shipping.
They are designed to be very straightforward to erect and dismantle. The whole process should take about 30 minutes. Each kit comes with a step-by-step video guide to help you along the way.
Yes an HD Simbox screen is included along with poles black enclosure and everything you will need. There are two options to upgrade to a Close-Knit Baffle and PRO+ screen for higher durability and improved image options.
All our products are tested over long periods of time at our headquarters. The GolfBays SimBox screen and enclosure can withstand ball speeds of over 200mph. It is also used by numerous PGA Professionals which is a testament to its quality.
Yes, we can. Please get in touch with your specific requirements and we will do our best to meet your needs. We will always aim to work within your space limitations.
Yes, apart from the quad pro and Pro+ impact screens.
Unlike most suppliers we offer a minimum of 6 months warranty on all our screens for peace of mind. Please ensure you use clean balls and clubs to extend the life of your screen as they will need to be replaced from time to time.
Discover the latest insights, tips, and trends in indoor golf and golf simulation technology.
Golf can be an intimidating game for newcomers, and the concept of a handicap often sounds like mysterious maths best left to experts. But fear not – a golf handicap is simply a way to measure your playing ability, and anyone - yes, anyone! - can get one.
In this guide, we’ll break down how handicaps work and how to calculate yours. Then we’ll dive into ways to improve your handicap – including the exciting world of virtual golf and high-tech launch monitors.
Whether you’re a total beginner or an aspiring low-handicap player, you’ll find tips, tech, and drills to level up your game. Let’s get started…
Imagine playing golf with friends of different skill levels – how do you compete fairly when one of you is chipping like a young Tiger Woods while the other can barely hit the ball? That’s where the handicap system comes in. A golf handicap is a number that represents a golfer’s skill, allowing players of all abilities to compete on an even playing field. The lower your handicap, the better you are (a scratch golfer has a handicap of 0, meaning they can play to par on any course). A higher handicap means you typically need more strokes over par.
Handicaps not only level the playing field, but they also track your personal progress. If your handicap drops from 30 to 20, it means you’ve made huge steps. What’s great is that handicaps are officially recognised worldwide under the World Handicap System (WHS) introduced in 2020, which means your handicap index is comparable no matter where you play.
A Few Key Terms…
To understand handicaps, you’ll hear terms like Course Rating and Slope Rating. These are just numbers the golf authorities assign to each course to indicate difficulty. Course Rating is how many strokes a scratch (0 handicap) golfer should take on that course, and Slope Rating measures how much harder the course plays for a bogey golfer (around 18–20 handicap) compared to a scratch golfer. These ratings help calculate your handicap for a specific course (your Course Handicap). The good news? These values are pre-calculated for you, so you don’t need to do any complex maths on the scorecard during a Sunday round.
Get set up: Join a golf club or your national body’s scheme (e.g., iGolf in England) so your scores feed into the World Handicap System (WHS).
Grab the app: Download your official handicap app (e.g., MyEG), sign in, and turn on location/club permissions if asked.
Pick your tees: Choose a rated course and tee set (they’ll have a Course Rating and Slope Rating shown in the app).
Pre-register: Before you tee off, start a scorecard in the app and add a marker to verify your score.
Play by the Rules: 9 or 18 holes both count. Keep it honest and finish out putts unless the format says otherwise.
Post your score the same day: Enter hole-by-hole if you can; your marker attests in the app. No spreadsheets required — the app does the maths.
Behind the scenes: WHS creates a Score Differential for that round, adjusting for Course Rating, Slope, and the day’s PCC (playing conditions).
First handicap: After 54 holes of acceptable scores (any mix of 9s and 18s), you’ll get your initial Handicap Index.
How it updates: Once you have 20 scores, your Index becomes the average of your best 8 most recent differentials and updates after every round.
On the day you play: Your app converts Index → Course Handicap for those tees automatically. In competitions, an allowance may then be applied to give your Playing Handicap.
Keep it current: Log every round you can. More scores = a truer Index, better targets, and a clearer picture of your progress.
The WHS keeps a running record of your scores and sets your Handicap Index from the average of your best 8 differentials out of your last 20 rounds. It updates as you play, so it reflects your current ability - not a lifetime average.
After you submit a score, the system creates a Score Differential that adjusts your gross score for the course’s difficulty (Course Rating and Slope) and the daily Playing Conditions Calculation (PCC) when applicable. No algebra required-the app does the maths-but that’s how it keeps things fair from one course and day to the next.
Your Handicap Index is universal, but the shots you receive depend on where you’re playing. For your tee set, the Course Handicap is calculated from your Handicap Index, the tee’s Slope Rating, and Course Rating minus Par. In short: harder tees, more shots; friendlier tees, fewer. Your club board or app will convert it for you automatically.
You can get an initial Handicap Index after 54 holes of acceptable scores (any mix of 9- and 18-hole rounds) on rated courses-handy if you’re starting out or not a club member. From there, every new score can nudge your index up or down. Watching that number drop as your practice pays off is half the fun.
Why do we care about lowering your handicap? Well, aside from the bragging rights at the 19th hole, a lower handicap opens up a whole new world in golf:
Fair Competition: With a lower handicap, you’ll find you can compete (or at least hold your own) in a wider range of events. Some amateur tournaments have handicap limits, so improving yours can qualify you for more competitions.
Personal Achievement: At the end of the day, golf is a game against yourself. Watching your handicap fall from, say, 28 to 18 is concrete proof you’re a better golfer than you were. It’s hugely motivating and rewarding to keep making progress in the right direction.
Consistency and Confidence: A dropping handicap means you’re becoming more consistent. You’re eliminating those meltdown holes and bad rounds. This consistency then breeds confidence. It’s no surprise: stepping onto the tee knowing you usually shoot in the low 80s (rather than hoping not to embarrass yourself) does wonders for your mental game.
Aspirational Goals: Many golfers think about handicaps as milestones to hit. Breaking 100 for the first time (handicap ~28), breaking 90 (handicap ~18), breaking 80 (handicap ~10), or even reaching single digits. Chasing these targets gives your practice and play a sense of purpose. It’s never just about one round, but a journey of improvement.
Lowering your handicap is a marathon, not a sprint. As you improve, each stroke off your handicap is harder to achieve (going from a 30 to a 20 handicap is easier than from 10 to 0). It will take time – and that’s okay. The pursuit is part of the fun, right? Every practice session, every new gadget, every tip from your coach is one piece of the puzzle to shave off another stroke.
Speaking of new gadgets…
Let’s talk about the latest way golfers are supercharging their handicap progress: With virtual golf and launch monitors.
Not so long ago, practicing your golf meant hitting balls on a driving range and hoping for the best. Feedback was limited to feel and watching where the ball flew. Unless you had a coach by your side, understanding what was going right and what was going wrong was very difficult indeed.
Today, things are different. We live in the age of virtual golf and high-tech launch monitors – devices that measure your shots with astonishing precision and even let you play simulated rounds in your garage or garden shed. This tech revolution isn’t just for the pros with fancy sponsorships; it’s increasingly accessible to everyday golfers. And tapping into it can be a total game-changer for your handicap.
So, let’s start with the big question: What is a launch monitor? It’s essentially a small radar/camera system that sits by while you strike a ball. It captures a wealth of data: ball speed, launch angle, spin rate, carry distance, club head speed, club path, and much more. In other words, it’s like having an extremely accurate golf scientist watching every shot and giving you a report on the wing and ball path. Some launch monitors are also golf simulators – they’ll show your shot flying on a virtual course and let you play games or rounds.
Think of it as bringing the driving range and golf course into your home, with instant feedback on each swing.
It’s important to note that a launch monitor itself doesn’t calculate your official handicap – you won’t suddenly get a handicap index from smashing drives into a net. Handicaps are based on real course scores. But using a launch monitor can help you improve the underlying skills that lead to lower scores and, as a result, a better handicap. Think of it as a tool for practice and feedback, not an end in itself. Launch monitors can help you earn a lower handicap through smarter practice.
Precise Data & Shot Analysis: Launch monitors tell you exactly what each shot is doing. Instead of guessing why your ball slices, you’ll see data like spin axis and clubface angle at impact that will spell out what your swing is doing. Knowing your numbers takes the mystery out of misses – you can identify specific problems and work to fix them.
Focused, Efficient Practice: With a launch monitor, every practice ball has a purpose. You’re not just mindlessly hitting balls – you’re working on a goal and seeing progress in real time. Instead of two hours repeating a bad habit, 30 minutes with feedback can help you develop a good one. Launch monitor practice is all about quality over quantity.
Virtual Play & Fun Challenges: Some of the latest launch monitors come with virtual golf courses and mini-games. This keeps your practice fun and varied, and adds elements of skill to more laid-back sessions. One session you might play St Andrews on your simulator, the next, you’re doing a closest-to-pin contest. This gamification means you practice more because it doesn’t feel like a grind. And the more you practice with a purpose, the better you get – simple as that.
Real-Time Feedback & Adjustment: The instant feedback loop a launch monitor provides is incredible for learning. Hit a shot, see the results, tweak something, and immediately see if it worked. It’s like having a coach with you watching every swing. Instead of ingraining a bad technique for weeks until your coach next sees you, you can catch it after a few swings and correct course in a matter of minutes.
In short, launch monitors enable data-driven, purposeful practice. They turn the guesswork of improvement into a science. From Trackman to Rapsodo, the best devices present the data with visual charts and colour-coded feedback, making insights simple to understand and act upon.
The market is brimming with golf tech, but in this post we’re going to focus on three standout launch monitors that can take your practice to the next level: the Garmin Approach R50, the Rapsodo MLM2PRO, and the Uneekor EYE MINI LITE.
Each has its own personality, features, and ideal user. We’ll explain what they do, how they help, and who they’re best suited for. Remember, all of these are tools to help you lower your scores through better practice – the end goal is still to go out and shoot lower on the real course.
Garmin’s Approach R50 launch monitor combines a built-in touchscreen and triple-camera system for a seamless home simulator experience.
If Tony Stark designed a golf simulator, it would probably look something like the Garmin R50. This is a premium launch monitor and golf simulator in one, complete with its own 10-inch colour touchscreen display. The unit itself shows your data and even the simulated course! It’s truly a plug-and-play solution: turn it on, and you can play a virtual round on over 43,000 courses (Home Tee Hero needs an active Garmin Golf membership) or hit the practice range without any extra setup.
Under the hood, the R50 uses three high-speed cameras to capture precise club and ball data, from ball speed and launch angle to spin rate, spin axis and more. It also measures club metrics like club head speed and club angles (such as attack angle and face angle), giving you a full picture of your swing on that lovely touchscreen - seconds after you hit the shot.
But we know what you’re thinking: What about my handicap? The R50 provides a Training Mode that tracks stats for each club and plots your shots on a dispersion chart to show how your consistency stacks up. Training with visuals like this will quickly highlight if, say, your shots tend to miss left or if your distance control is erratic. The R50 can also record impact videos, replaying a clip of your club hitting the ball along with the numbers. This is gold for game improvement – you can actually see what your club face was doing at impact when you hit that nasty hook, rather than just scratching your head and wondering what happened.
Another big plus: the R50 also handles putting and chipping in simulation. This means you can practice pressure 6-foot putts and really immerse yourself in virtual rounds. The result is a setup that lets you practice course management and shot selection, not just your swing mechanics. It’s as close to real golf as you can get.
We’d pitch the Garmin R50 at dedicated golfers and tech-savvy beginners who wants a no-compromise simulator. If you have the budget and space, the R50 can be your ultimate at-home golf lab, guiding you from swing mechanics to on-green performance.
The Rapsodo MLM2PRO launch monitor uses dual cameras and radar to provide measured spin data and multi-angle swing replays, turning every practice into a high-tech training session.
If you’re the type of golfer who loves analysing swing videos and crunching data, the Rapsodo MLM2PRO might be your new best friend.
This launch monitor combines Doppler radar with two advanced cameras built into the unit – meaning it not only measures your shots with precision, but also captures your swing from multiple angles in real time. Essentially, it’s a launch monitor + video studio + simulator all rolled into one sleek, portable device.
Let’s talk about those cameras first. When you hit a shot with the MLM2PRO, the device can record your swing from two viewpoints simultaneously: typically a down-the-line view (toward your target) and a face-on view. It then offers multi-angle swing replay, syncing both views side-by-side, while also showing a slow-motion close-up of impact. This is an absolute goldmine for improvement. You can dissect your swing mechanics frame-by-frame and compare it against the shot outcome.
On the data side, Rapsodo MLM2PRO is loaded. It provides 15 different metrics for every shot, of which 8 are measured directly and the rest calculated. This includes essentials like ball speed, launch angle, launch direction, carry and total distance, as well as advanced metrics like Club Path, Angle of Attack, Spin Rate, and Spin Axis. What sets Rapsodo apart is that it can directly measure spin rate and spin axis – those are typically hard to measure without high-speed cameras. Rapsodo achieves it by using special golf balls with Rapsodo Precision Technology markings. With these balls, the MLM2PRO can measure your ball’s spin with incredible accuracy. Translation: you get pro-level insight into exactly how your ball is spinning, which is key to understanding shot shape and stopping power.
The MLM2PRO isn’t just a data nerd’s dream; it’s built to make practice enjoyable and goal-oriented. It features a Rapsodo Combine – a gamified practice test where you hit to various targets and get scored on your performance. This lets you benchmark your skills and identify weaknesses. There’s also a Target Range mode with 72 different target distances and fairway scenarios, which is perfect for practicing those in-between yardages or pressure drives. And when it’s time for fun or a change of pace, the MLM2PRO shines with simulation: it offers 30,000+ courses to play (with a premium membership) and even has integration with top-tier simulator software like E6 Connect, GSPro, and Awesome Golf. You can essentially use the Rapsodo with your PC or iPad to create a full home simulator setup, or stick with the mobile experience – it’s flexible.
For game improvement, the benefits of Rapsodo MLM2PRO are clear. You’re getting instant, detailed feedback on both the cause (your swing) and effect (ball flight). It’s like having a launch monitor and a high-speed camera crew focused on your swing at once. By reviewing your swings, you can make precise adjustments. For instance, you might work on shallowing your swing if you see a steep angle of attack causing high backspin balloons. Or you might adjust your grip if the video shows it’s open at impact, matching that to the fade you keep seeing in the data.
Rapsodo also includes an R-Speed training mode, which allows you to do swing speed training without hitting a ball. You can just make speed swings and it measures your swing speed. For players looking to add distance (who isn’t?), this helps you train speed safely and track progress.
All in all, the MLM2PRO is a forward-thinking device that brings a tour-like practice experience to regular golfers. It’ll push you with data and video, but still wraps it in a fun, competitive platform. If you’re serious about shaving strokes and love analysing your swing, Rapsodo provides an almost obsessive level of detail to satisfy your inner swing nerd. Embrace the data and watch your handicap numbers fall!
If you’re the kind of golfer who wants the highest accuracy and doesn’t mind a bit of extra setup, the Uneekor EYE MINI LITE is a great choice. Uneekor is known for its professional-grade simulators (their overhead camera systems are used in teaching studios and fitting bays worldwide). The EYE MINI LITE is essentially Uneekor’s attempt to pack that tour-level precision into a smaller, more accessible unit. It’s a launch monitor for serious golfers who wants top-tier data above all else.
The EYE MINI LITE uses a dual-camera photometric system – basically two super high-speed cameras – to capture the club and ball at impact with incredible detail. It measures 19 different metrics (ball and club data) and almost all of them are directly measured rather than calculated. In other words, this unit is seeing your impact in high-speed frames and reporting what actually happened, not relying on algorithms to fill in the gaps. The result is accuracy that’s on par with some of the best in the business.
Now, the “LITE” in the name hints at what’s different: to make this device more affordable, Uneekor stripped out some convenience features. The Eye Mini Lite has no battery - it’s mains powered - and no screen of its own. It’s intended for a fixed indoor setup where it will connect to a gaming PC via an Ethernet-to-USB connection. You can’t just toss it in your golf bag for a quick range session and it’s designed for indoor use only.
Everything runs through Uneekor’s Windows-based software on your PC. In essence, the Eye Mini Lite trades portability and gimmicks for pure performance and value. You’re paying for the optics and sensors, not extras.
How does the Eye Mini Lite help improve your game? By acting as an extremely precise microscope for your swing and ball flight. It captures things even some other monitors might miss. For example, Uneekor uses club face fiducial stickers to help the cameras track the club face throughout impact. This yields ultra-accurate club orientation data – face angle, loft, lie – as well as where on the face you hit the ball. Knowing you hit it off the toe versus centre can explain differences in launch and spin. Most amateur golfers don’t realise how much off-centre strikes affect distance; this device will make that crystal clear, which is the first step to improving consistency.
The feedback is instantaneous – you hit the ball and your data and shot simulation show up immediately on screen. There’s near-zero lag, so it feels very natural and connected to your swing. With the Eye Mini Lite, you can get into a rhythm of hit, see results, adjust, hit again, seamlessly.
Uneekor’s software gives you a driving range with all the numbers, plus various training modes. And if you want full course play simulation, the device is compatible with popular third-party software like E6, TGC 2019, and GSPro.
With Uneekor’s excellent View software, you get insights into all of your data, 3D ball flight, and even lets you view the club’s collision with the ball. For most golfers, that’s enough to make significant improvements. You can iteratively work on swing changes and immediately see if the numbers are moving in the right direction.
To be clear, for a beginner, the Eye Mini Lite is probably overkill – and the setup might feel a bit technical. But for an aspirational golfer who wants a home setup that approaches professional-grade, this is a fantastic option at a relatively reasonable price point. It removes fluff and focuses on what lowers handicaps: accurate, actionable data. If you’re data-driven and practice-focused, the Eye Mini Lite will be the uncompromising mentor that keeps you honest and accelerates your improvement.
Now that we’ve introduced the tech that’s on standby ready to help you, let’s talk strategy: how do you practice with these launch monitors to lower your handicap?
It’s not enough to just collect numbers or play simulator golf for fun – you need to practice with purpose. Here are some tailored tips for different skill levels, along with drills, common mistakes, and ways to personalise your practice using launch monitors.
When you’re new to the game, consistency is the biggest hurdle. Focus on making solid contact and striking the ball cleanly. It’s here that a launch monitor can help with the basics.
Start with a range session on your device’s practice mode and pay attention to just one or two metrics at first. Carry distance and launch angle are great starting points.
Many beginners slice the ball. If that’s you, the monitor will show a big left-to-right spin axis or side spin. A device like the R10 or Rapsodo will even display shot shape trajectories – use that feedback! Try a drill where you purposely exaggerate a draw swing (for a righty, feel like you’re swinging out to right field) and watch the monitor to see if the spin axis starts tilting less to the right. Even if you don’t fix it overnight, you’ll begin to connect the feel of a swing change with a visible change in ball flight. That’s huge for learning.
It’s hard to stay motivated if you’re just pounding balls all day. Tap into the fun side of your tech with target mode or range games. Set a 100-yard target and hit 10 shots – see how many land within a certain radius. Devices like the MLM2PRO have 72 different target challenges – doing a few each session not only builds your skills but also simulates on-course scenarios (like hitting onto a green). The Garmin R10’s Home Tee Hero or a simulator round on an easy course can also be great: play 9 holes virtually and keep a score. This helps translate practice to playing, and you’ll learn things like when to play safe or when you can clear that pond (virtually) with your current distances and consistency level.
Start with a wedge distance ladder. Pick four distances: 40, 60, 80, 100 yards. Hit to each (your monitor will tell you the carry distance) and try to develop a feel for each yardage. Build this muscle memory and you’ll see a rapid rise in consistency on the course.
You can also try a tempo test. Pick one club and one target. Hit 10 balls at a smooth, balanced 80% effort, then 10 balls at your “full send”, full speed swing. With the launch monitor data, you can compare the dispersion circles and the variation in carry between the two sets of swings. Most golfers will see the 80% set group tighter (even if it’s a few yards shorter). That evidence makes it easier to commit to a more controlled tempo on the course. You’ll probably find that less is more, and that taking a bit off of your swing will lead to more fairways and greens, and fewer blow-ups!
A common mistake for beginners is getting overwhelmed by data. You don’t need to understand every metric on day one. Stick to a few key ones (distance, ball speed, maybe club path) and work on improving those gradually. Also, don’t chase max distance on every swing. It’s tempting to see a personal best ball speed and then try to top it – but that can lead to wild swings and ingrain bad habits. Instead, treat the launch monitor as a mirror – it’s reflecting what you’re doing. Make small tweaks (grip, stance, alignment) and observe the changes rather than constantly swinging harder. Consistency beats occasional brilliance when it comes to lowering a high handicap.
Mid-handicappers usually have a decent game but one or two areas that leak strokes. Use your launch monitor to zero in on that weakness and master it. For example, if approach shots are a problem, spend time with iron practice on the simulator. Look at your dispersion for 7-iron, 8-iron, etc. If you see that with a 7-iron, your shots are all over (some left, some right, inconsistent distances), that’s a sign to work on club-face control or contact quality.
You can set a virtual green as a target and challenge yourself to hit, say, 7/10 shots onto it from 150 yards. Keep doing this each practice and track your improvement over several weeks. The data might show your average miss is short-right, for instance – now you know you tend to leave the face open and not quite catch it. That’s something concrete you can address, whether it’s a technical flaw or a sign you should club up in those circumstances.
At this level, distance control is vital. You might hit some greens, but are you often long or short? Use the monitor to truly nail down your club distances. Create your own distance chart: hit 10 shots with each club and note the average carry. You might discover, for example, that your 8-iron is consistently 140 yards carry, but you thought it was 150. Armed with real data, you’ll make better on-course decisions (and suddenly those approach shots start finding the green instead of the bunker in front). Many monitors store your shot histories, so you can build this reference over time and understand your game even better than before.
As a mid-handicapper, you might be flirting with trying to hit draws or fades on purpose. A launch monitor is perfect for this. It’s a safe environment to experiment. The monitor will tell you the spin axis of each shot and help you develop your fade or draw. But even if you’re not working on shaping shots, understanding your natural shot shape and playing to it is key. The monitor data across many shots might reveal that “Oh, I always hit a 10-yard fade with my driver.” Accept that and aim accordingly! Use what the numbers tell you to make smart choices – it’s better to have one shot shape you can rely on than two you can’t control.
At this stage, your technique might be solid on the range but breaks under pressure. Use your simulator to recreate pressure. Why not set up a closest-to-pin contest against a friend or even just try to beat your own record. Or play the last 3 holes of a course needing to make par and see how you fare. Many launch monitors allow you to compete or play in online events. This kind of practice trains you to handle nerves and focus – skills that directly translate to better scores when it counts in real life. It’s a confident booster when you nail your drive on the 18th and go on to win your virtual match – you’ll carry some of that swagger to the real course.
Not all launch monitors read short chips or putts well. However, you can still practice your pitching with them. These 30–70 yard shots are round killers for mid-cappers when they go wrong. Set your device to a target within that range and practice hitting those finesse shots. Pay attention to launch angle and spin. High launch with enough spin will land softer, versus a low skidder that may run too much. A crisp 50-yard wedge that you dialled in on your simulator will save you countless strokes on the course.
Mid-handicap players can be guilty of overcorrecting. With all this data, you might see a couple of bad shots and tinker too much with your swing all at once. Avoid changing multiple variables simultaneously, because if it works, you won’t know which change helped, and if it worsens, you might undo an element of your swing that was actually fine. Make one adjustment at a time and see the effect in the data.
When you’re already a skilled player, the path to improvement is more about fine margins and consistency under pressure. At this level, launch monitors become precision tools for polishing your game.
Low handicappers should use a launch monitor to ensure their numbers are within “tour-like” windows for key stats, relative to their swing speed. For example, check your driver launch angle and spin rate. Many amateurs hit the driver too low with too much spin, losing distance. If your device shows you’re launching at 7° with 3500 rpm spin, it might be time to tweak your setup or equipment (maybe try a different tee height, move ball forward, or consider a different shaft) to get closer to, say, 12° launch and 2200 rpm – a recipe for maximised distance. The monitor is indispensable here; you can run experiments and see results immediately. Similarly, for irons, you can look at descent angle and spin to gauge if your approach shots will hold greens. Too low spin or too shallow a descent and you’ll know why those 5-irons are running away.
At a low handicap, you should develop a few stock shots – maybe a huge drive off the tee, or a fade with the 6-iron when needed. Use the simulator to practice these speciality shots. Want a reliable punch shot under the wind? Try different ball positions and swing lengths while watching the launch angle on the monitor. You’ll see immediately what trajectory you’re getting. Work on a soft fade approach – the monitor will tell you if you’re actually taking off a few yards and adding spin for that controlled flight. By rehearsing these on the launch monitor, you’ll trust them on the course because you have quantifiable proof of how they perform.
One great use of simulators for good players is scenario practice. For example, you can simulate the last 4 holes of a championship course where you need to protect or chase a lead. You can also set difficult conditions for practice – like high winds on a links course – and see how you manage your ball flight.
Over time, this kind of practice makes you a thinking player who can adapt on the course. You’ll go into real rounds having “seen it all” in virtual ones – different lies, different strategies, and different conditions. When you can no longer be surprised by what you’re faced with, you’ll reach another level of performance.
Low handicappers can fall into the trap of chasing the perfect numbers and forgetting to just play golf. Remember, the goal is to shoot lower scores, not to have TrackMan-perfect swings. Use the data to serve your on-course performance, not as an end in itself. If your launch monitor says your 6-iron has 6000 rpm spin and you’re hitting greens and scoring well, you don’t necessarily need to tinker to hit 7000 rpm like a tour pro. Good is good enough if it consistently produces results. In other words, don’t fix what isn’t broken just because the numbers aren’t tour-level. Focus on areas where the data shows genuine problems or inconsistencies affecting your scores. Then you’ll bring down that handicap.
Your golf handicap is a reflection of your golf journey – and with the right approach, tools, and mindset, it’s a number you have the power to improve.
By now, it should be clear that while a launch monitor won’t swing the club for you, it will arm you with knowledge – the kind of knowledge that used to be reserved for touring pros with teams of coaches and analysts. It also gives you a space to experiment, focus in your weaknesses, and magnify your strengths.
Whether you choose the all-in-one convenience of Garmin’s Approach R50, the rich insights of Rapsodo MLM2PRO, or the pro-grade precision of Uneekor’s Eye Mini Lite, each can be a game-changing partner in practice. These devices help you practice smarter, not just harder.
Everything we’ve discussed, from understanding handicaps to getting the most out of launch monitors, is a means to that end. So, embrace the journey. Set some goals. If you can, invest in a bit of technology to accelerate the process. Then, get out there (or in your garage/basement) and start experimenting, learning, and improving.
With each practice session, you’re one step closer to the golfer you aspire to be!
The UK’s indoor golf simulator market is flying. It's forecast to be worth £235 million by 2030, with a 10% compound annual growth rate fueled by rising demand for year-round golfing experiences and tech-driven entertainment.
On top of that, golf participation in the UK has hit decade-high levels. The number of rounds played in early 2025 was 18% higher than the previous year, with March 2025 seeing the most golf rounds since 2012. In short, more people swinging clubs (virtually or outdoors) means more potential customers for indoor golf venues and related experiences.
So what does that mean for you? Starting a commercial golf simulator venue in the UK is looking like a lucrative option right now. Golf’s post-pandemic resurgence and the public’s appetite for indoor leisure activities (“competitive socialising” like Topgolf, indoor mini-golf, bowling bars, darts, etc.) have created fertile ground for profitable golf-sim businesses. So, how exactly do these venues make money?
In this post, we’re going to break down the Golf Sim venue business model, revenue streams, costs, and key benchmarks that can turn virtual swings into real profits.
Indoor golf centres often feature multiple simulator bays in a lounge-like setting. These venues combine high-tech golf play and practice with a social, bar-and-restaurant atmosphere. Visitors can play famous courses virtually while enjoying food and drinks with friends. It’s a prime example of “competitive socialising,” a trend that merges sports entertainment with hospitality. This convergence means revenue comes not just from golf itself, but from the broader mix of play, food, and community.
A successful indoor golf simulator venue isn’t just about renting out simulators by the hour – it capitalises on multiple revenue streams to maximise earnings. Here are the seven primary ways a UK golf-sim venue can generate income:
1. Bay Hire (Hourly Simulator Rentals): Charging customers by the hour to play on a simulator bay is the core revenue driver. Golfers (or groups of friends) pay for virtual rounds or practice time. Typical rates range from about £30–£40 per hour off-peak up to £50+ in peak times in major cities. Each bay can driven significant revenue if capacity is well used.
2. Memberships & Packages: Many venues offer membership programs or pre-paid packages for regular customers. For a monthly or annual fee, members might get discounted (or included) simulator hours, priority booking, league entry, or other perks. This provides recurring revenue and encourages loyalty. A membership model also helps smooth out demand across off-peak times. Think of it like a gym membership, but for indoor golf.
3. Leagues & Tournaments: Organising golf leagues, tournaments, or weekly competitions is another pillar. Golf-sim leagues (e.g. a winter league where local golfers play a 9-hole virtual round each week) keep players coming back regularly and paying entry fees. Friendly competition drives engagement (and bar sales!). Venues can charge league fees or sponsorships and often fill multiple bays simultaneously during league nights. It’s a win-win: customers enjoy a competitive, social atmosphere, and the venue boosts utilisation on otherwise quiet weeknights.
4. Lessons and Coaching: Having PGA professionals offer golf lessons on your simulators can be a strong revenue stream. Many indoor golf centres double as teaching academies – using simulators’ swing analytics and video feedback for instruction. The venue can either hire a pro (and take a cut of lesson fees) or rent out bay time to freelance coaches. Professional lessons not only bring direct income but also attract avid golfers who then practice more (renting bays) and buy gear. Some venues also run junior academies or group clinics to further monetise instruction. Coaching acts like a flywheel, driving more people to your venue over time.
5. Food & Drink: Having an on-site bar and kitchen turns your golf sim venue into a social hangout where people spend on pints and burgers in addition to practice time. Many successful indoor golf businesses effectively operate as sports bars or clubhouses. Revenue per customer can double when you add beer sales to bay fees. Industry data shows food & beverage can contribute 20-30% of an indoor golf centre’s total revenue. Plus, alcohol sales come with good margins. Bear in mind you’ll need a Premises Licence and possibly a Personal Licence to serve alcohol – but more on licensing later.
6. Corporate Events & Private Hire: Beyond day-to-day play, indoor golf venues make money by hosting corporate events, parties, and private functions. Think company team-building days, client entertainment, birthday parties, or even stag dos. Companies might rent out the whole venue (or a section) for a few hours or a day, paying a premium for an exclusive experience that includes simulators and catering. Packaging corporate event deals – with food/drink included – can bring large injections of revenue, especially on normally quieter weekdays. Some venues also host sponsored events or partner with golf equipment brands for demo days.
7. On-Site Retail & Pro Shop Sales: Last but not least, many golf-sim venues have a small pro shop or retail area. This can range from selling golf balls, gloves, and apparel to earning commissions on club fittings and equipment. For instance, if a player tries out a new driver during a simulator session (some venues have demo clubs available) and wants to purchase the real thing, the venue can facilitate the sale. Even selling branded merchandise (caps, shirts with your venue’s logo) or accessories can add a nice supplemental income.
As you can see, a robust indoor golf business diversifies its income. Hourly bay rentals are the bread and butter, but memberships, leagues, lessons, F&B, events, and retail each contribute to the revenue mix. The most profitable venues find ways to keep customers engaged on multiple fronts and drive the average spend up. A member who comes for a weekly league night might also take a lesson, have a couple of beers, and buy a new wedge from your shop over the course of a month. All of those interactions contribute!
It’s helpful to quantify the earning potential of a simulator bay (i.e. one screen enclosure with a launch monitor). As mentioned, rates commonly hover around £35/hour off-peak and £50/hour at peak times in UK cities. Utilisation – what percentage of the available hours the bay is actually rented – is the key driver of revenue. Let’s take a look at a healthy utilisation scenario:
Target utilisation: ~60% of available hours booked (this is ambitious but achievable once your business matures and builds a customer base. Many new venues might start around 30–40% and grow from there). For example, if your opening hours allow roughly 80 bookable hours per week per bay, a 60% utilisation rate means ~48 hours/week rented.
Blended Hourly Rate: ~£40/hour on average (a mix of lower off-peak daytime rates and higher evening/weekend peak rates).
At 60% utilisation and ~£40 average rate, one bay would generate about £1,920 per week, which is roughly £100k per year. If your pricing or demand is stronger (say closer to £50/hr on average, or ~10 booked hours a day), the figure can be higher, on the order of £130k–£160k per year per bay. Many top-performing venues report annual revenue in the £110k–£150k range per bay when running near capacity.
In practice, not every bay will be full all the time. But leagues, events, and repeat customers/members help bump up the average usage. As a general rule, each simulator can gross six figures annually once you ramp up operations. So a venue with 4 high-quality bays might aim for ~£400k+ gross revenue a year from simulator fees alone (not including the extra revenue streams like bar sales or lessons).
It’s also wise to set pricing strategically: e.g. offer off-peak discounts or memberships to fill mornings/afternoons, and charge premium rates on busy weekend slots. Pay attention to local competitors (bowling alleys, other entertainment bars) to position your pricing. In major UK cities like London, £50–£60/hour for peak times is not uncommon at upscale simulator venues, whereas smaller towns might cap nearer £30–£40/hour. Know your market and price accordingly, but don’t undervalue a high-end simulator experience!
How about the cost side of the equation? Launching and running an indoor golf venue has two big categories of costs:
Upfront Capital Expenditure (CAPEX): the one-time startup investments to get your venue ready
Ongoing Operating Expenditure (OPEX): the recurring costs to keep the business running day-to-day.
Let’s break these down:
Simulator Equipment & Fit-Out (CAPEX): The largest upfront cost is the hardware and build-out for each simulator bay. A full commercial simulator setup includes the launch monitor/radar or camera system, a hitting enclosure (impact screen, frame, turf, nets), projector, gaming PC, software, and all the installation and calibration.
High-end commercial simulators typically range from around £35k–£60k per bay. Some premium systems can exceed this. Don’t forget to budget for construction and space prep: you may need to install swing-proof flooring, sound insulation, custom lighting, seating, etc. A rule of thumb: £40k–£70k per bay all-in is a reasonable planning range for a quality commercial setup when you include enclosure build-out and installation.
Other Startup Costs: Beyond simulators, initial costs include renovating the premises (carpentry, decor, painting), setting up a bar/kitchen area if offering F&B, furniture (tables, chairs, sofas for lounge areas), EPOS/booking systems, signage, and any professional fees (architect, licensing advisor, etc.). You’ll also need a stock of rental clubs (many customers bring their own clubs, but you should have decent sets on hand for those who don’t). And don’t forget working capital to cover the first few months of operating expenses before revenue flows.
Leasehold and Utilities (OPEX): When running a venue, your major ongoing costs will include rent (lease payments) for the commercial space and associated business rates (commercial property tax). City-centre locations will of course cost more per square foot than an industrial estate or out-of-town space. Aside from rent, budget for utility bills – electricity for all that tech (simulators, TVs, fridges) and heating/AC for a large open space can be significant, plus water/sewer and internet. Simulator bays especially consume a chunk of power (projectors, computers running constantly).
Staffing (OPEX): Even a small 3-4 bay venue will need staff to operate. You’ll likely have a venue manager and a handful of part-time staff to cover reception/check-ins, bar service, cleaning, and overseeing play (ensuring customers know how to use the sims, etc.). If you have a kitchen, add a chef/cook. And if you host a teaching pro for lessons, their compensation (or revenue share) is a factor. Staff costs not only include wages but also PAYE taxes, National Insurance, pension contributions, etc. Many indoor golf centres operate with a lean staff (e.g. one or two people can handle a bar plus check-ins for a 4-bay setup during quiet times), but during busy league nights or events you’ll need extra hands. Budget accordingly for salaries and try to align staffing levels with peak usage times.
Software Subscriptions & Tech (OPEX): Most simulator systems require ongoing software licenses or subscriptions. For example, you might pay monthly or annual fees for simulator software updates, course libraries, or online services. Additionally, if you use a booking system (online reservation platform) or a POS system for sales, those may have monthly fees or payment processing charges. Don’t forget music licensing fees (PRS/PPL) if you play background music in the venue. UK businesses are required to have these licenses to legally play copyrighted music in public.
Consumables and Maintenance (OPEX): You’ll regularly need to replace consumables like golf balls (they will wear out or get damaged), tees, and maybe the hitting mat turf every so often. Factor in maintenance of equipment – projectors need bulb replacements or cleaning, computer hardware may need IT support, and launch monitors might require recalibration or occasional fixes. Keeping a service contract or warranty support with your simulator provider is wise. Insurance is another must-have overhead: you’ll need public liability insurance (in case a customer injures themselves or property is damaged), insurance for your contents/equipment, and perhaps business interruption insurance.
VAT Considerations: In the UK, most of your sales (bay rentals, F&B, etc.) will be subject to 20% VAT, and likewise many of your purchases (equipment, construction, stock) will have VAT. If you register for VAT (which you likely should if your revenue will exceed the threshold), you can reclaim VAT on your business purchases – but be mindful of cash flow timing. For example, if you spend £100k on building the venue, that’s £20k of VAT you’ll eventually reclaim from HMRC, but it might take a quarter or more to get it back. Meanwhile, you also have to charge VAT on sales and remit those. Plan your cash flow so you’re not caught short while waiting for a VAT refund. Many startups work closely with an accountant to manage this, especially around the big upfront spends.
In summary, launching a golf simulator venue does require a significant upfront investment (equipment and fit-out) and has ongoing fixed costs similar to any hospitality or leisure business (rent, staff, utilities). A ballpark estimate for a modest 4-bay venue could easily be a £200k–£300k+ startup cost once you include everything, and monthly operating costs in the several thousands (rent and staff being the big ones). It’s important to budget realistically. However, as we saw earlier, the revenue potential is also high – a well-run venue can gross half a million pounds or more per year. The goal is to reach break-even as soon as feasible (many aim for ~18 months to recoup initial investment) and then scale profitability from there.
Operating an indoor golf and bar venue means jumping through a few regulatory hoops. Here are the key compliance areas to be aware of in the UK:
Licensing for Alcohol Sales: If you plan to serve alcohol (which is highly recommended from a revenue standpoint), you’ll need to obtain a Premises Licence under the Licensing Act 2003, and have a Designated Premises Supervisor who holds a Personal Licence. This involves applying to the local council, displaying public notices, and possibly a hearing. It’s wise to get advice or hire a licensing consultant to handle this. Note that your operating hours, noise conditions, etc., may be stipulated in the licence.
Planning Permission & Noise Mitigation: If you’re converting a space or changing its use (say from retail to leisure), you might need planning permission for a “change of use”. Local authorities have become keen on noise mitigation for competitive socialising venues – ensure your venue has adequate soundproofing so that thwacks of golf balls or cheering patrons don’t disturb neighbours. This might be a factor, especially if your location is near residential areas. Be proactive: use acoustic panels, insulation, and reasonable operating hours to manage noise. Councils can require noise impact assessments during planning, and you certainly want to avoid noise complaints once operating.
Music Licensing: As mentioned, playing music (even just background radio or Spotify) requires licenses: PRS (for songwriters/composers) and PPL (for recordings). These are usually not very expensive for a small venue, but it’s a legal requirement to pay them.
Health & Safety and Fire Regulations: You’ll need to comply with fire safety rules – that includes having proper fire exits, extinguishers, alarms, and emergency lighting. When fitting out the venue, a fire risk assessment should be done. Also consider general health and safety: first aid kits on site, clear safety briefing or signage (people swinging clubs – make sure only those in the bay area are in swing range, etc.). Public Liability Insurance (often £5–10 million coverage) is essential to cover any accidents.
Age Restrictions and Supervision: While not a legal “licence”, consider your policies: serving alcohol means you’ll enforce 18+ for drinking, but your venue might attract juniors for lessons or family groups. Decide if under-18s are allowed and under what conditions (likely yes, but accompanied by an adult and not at certain late hours if alcohol is served heavily).
COVID or Other Regulations: Post-pandemic, it’s smart to stay adaptable to any public health regulations. Indoor venues had to adapt for social distancing, sanitisation, etc. Keep an eye on any guidance for hospitality or indoor sports should things crop up in the future.
None of this is meant to scare you. We just want to highlight that a golf simulator business, especially one with food/drink, touches on multiple regulatory frameworks (alcohol licensing, planning, health & safety, entertainment licensing). It’s wise to consult with legal experts or your local council’s business support services to ensure you tick all the boxes. Getting your licences in place and having good relations with local authorities will set you up for smooth operations. After all, you want the only buzz to be about your great venue, not a neighbour complaining to the council!
Given the substantial costs to start up, you’ll likely explore various funding sources. The good news is there are several UK funding routes that align well with this kind of business venture:
Government Start Up Loans: The British Business Bank’s Start Up Loans program offers government-backed loans from £500 up to £25,000 per director. These are essentially personal loans (6% interest fixed) used for business purposes, aimed at new businesses trading under 3 years. For example, if you have two founders, collectively you might secure up to £50k (each can apply for £25k). Start Up Loans come with the benefit of free mentoring and no early repayment fees. They can provide that initial chunk of capital to buy a simulator or two. (Keep in mind, £25k alone won’t cover a full venue, but it can be part of a larger funding package.)
Bank Loans and the Growth Guarantee Scheme: Traditional bank loans or asset finance might be an option, especially if you have some track record or other collateral. As of 2024, the UK has introduced the Growth Guarantee Scheme (GGS) – a successor to the Recovery Loan Scheme – which helps banks lend to small businesses by guaranteeing 70% of the loan amount via the British Business Bank. Under GGS, businesses can potentially borrow up to £2 million (depending on the lender and criteria) for growth or investment. If you have a solid business plan, a lender under GGS might finance your expansion (for instance, financing the fit-out of multiple bays or a new location) with the government mitigating some risk for the bank. Talk to your bank about GGS-backed loans for new ventures; it could unlock debt financing that otherwise would be hard to get as a startup.
Equity Investment – SEIS/EIS: If you plan to raise money from investors (friends, family, angel investors), make sure to utilise the UK’s very generous startup investment schemes: SEIS (Seed Enterprise Investment Scheme) and EIS (Enterprise Investment Scheme). Under SEIS, you can raise up to £250,000 in equity funding for a new company, and your investors get 50% of their investment back as income tax relief (plus other benefits like tax-free gains). EIS allows larger raises (up to £5m a year) with 30% tax relief to investors. These schemes hugely encourage people to invest in startups like yours. For example, you could offer equity in your business to an angel investor to raise, say, £100k, and they’d only effectively pay £50k after their SEIS tax rebate – a nice selling point. Ensure your company meets the criteria (trading under 3 years for SEIS, etc.) and get advance assurance from HMRC to reassure investors.
Other Avenues: Traditional means like using personal savings, bringing on a business partner with capital, or even crowdfunding could play a role. Some indoor leisure startups have found success with local crowdfunding – pitching the concept to the community, who then effectively pre-buy memberships or shares (this doubles as marketing – you create a built-in customer base). Additionally, if you have an existing business (say a golf shop) adding simulators, you might finance via business asset finance or manufacturer financing (some simulator companies offer payment plans). Explore asset finance for equipment – you might lease the simulators rather than buy outright, to spread costs.
No matter which route, a solid business plan and financial model are crucial. Lenders and investors will want to see your projected revenue, costs, breakeven point, and market research. Showing that you understand the business model (perhaps using the info in this article!) and have a path to profitability will instil confidence. Be prepared to invest some of your own money and demonstrate why your chosen location and concept will succeed. There is money out there for good ideas – use the UK’s startup-friendly schemes to your advantage.
Let’s paint a picture of what the numbers might look like once an indoor golf venue is up and running. Imagine a venue with 4 simulator bays in a mid-sized UK city, plus a bar/kitchen. Here’s an indicative annual Profit & Loss outline once the business reaches steady state:
Revenue: Suppose each bay earns ~£120k/year (a mix of peak/off-peak usage as discussed). That’s £480k from simulator rentals. Add £120k from food & beverage sales (assume many customers buy drinks/food – this could be higher if you really push F&B). Lessons, memberships, and retail might add another £50k. Total gross revenue ~£650k/year.
Cost of Sales: These are costs that scale directly with revenue. For F&B, the cost of ingredients/stock – maybe 30% of F&B revenue (~£36k). For simulator usage, there isn’t a direct “cost per round” except maybe wear-and-tear and electricity (negligible per use). If you pay a golf pro a percentage of lesson fees, that’s a cost too. Let’s estimate total cost of sales ~£50k. That leaves gross profit ~£600k.
Operating Expenses: Now deduct fixed costs. Rent might be, say, £50k/year (varies widely by location size and city). Staff wages – perhaps you have a manager and several part-timers, totalling £120k/year. Utilities could be £15k. Insurance, licenses, marketing, subscriptions, maintenance, etc., combined another £20k–£30k. Let’s say all in, OPEX ~£220k.
EBITDA: Earnings before interest, tax, depreciation, and amortisation – basically your operating profit – would then be roughly £600k gross profit minus £220k expenses = £380k. That would be a very healthy EBITDA margin of ~58%. In reality, we may be a bit optimistic on both revenue and costs; perhaps utilisation is lower or wages higher. Real-world indoor golf centres often report EBITDA margins in the 25%–35% range once mature. For instance, if our venue had an EBITDA of ~£180k on £650k revenue, that’s about 28% margin, which is solid for a hospitality-oriented business.
Breakeven Point: With those figures, breakeven (EBITDA £0) would occur at a revenue where gross profit just covers fixed costs. Using the above, if fixed OPEX is ~£220k and gross margin ~90% (since cost of sales is small aside from F&B), the venue likely needs on the order of £250k in annual revenue to break even on an EBITDA basis. That’s only ~40% of our projected capacity – meaning there is some cushion. In other words, you might need roughly 50-60% of your bay capacity filled (plus modest bar sales) to cover all your bills. This is an attainable target within the first year if you hustle on marketing and memberships. Achieving full swing (pun intended) of 70%+ utilisation and strong ancillary sales could then yield the healthy profits described.
The above numbers are hypothetical but based on industry benchmarks. Every business will differ. The key message is that once you cover your fixed costs, additional revenue largely turns into profit – that’s the beauty of high-margin simulator time. So, maximising utilisation and incremental sales per customer greatly boosts the bottom line.
Reaching break-even in ~18–24 months is a reasonable goal for a well-funded venue that ramps up marketing early. The initial year might operate at a loss (as you build clientele and absorb startup costs), but by year two you’d aim to be solidly profitable monthly. Investors or lenders will want to see this path to profitability and cash flow positivity. By year three, a stabilised venue could potentially consider expanding (more bays or additional locations) using the profits or by leveraging demonstrated success to get more funding.
Running an indoor golf venue, you’ll want to keep a close eye on certain metrics that gauge the health of the business. Here are some crucial KPIs and benchmarks:
Bay Occupancy Rate: Similar to hotel occupancy – what percentage of total available simulator hours are being booked? Track this overall and by peak vs. off-peak. For example, you might see 80% occupancy during weekday evenings but only 20% on weekday mornings. This data will guide promotions (e.g. offer morning discounts) and show growth. A rising overall occupancy % month-over-month is a key sign of gaining traction.
Revenue per Bay (per day/week/month): Monitor how much each simulator is earning. If one is lower, is it because of technical downtime or less popularity of that room? Often it should be equal, but if you have one premium bay (say with a newer system) and it commands a higher rate and stays booked, that’s useful info.
Membership and League Participation: How many active members do you have? What’s the attach rate (percentage of regular customers who convert to members)? Also, how many people are joining leagues or tournaments? These figures indicate community building and recurring usage, which drive stability. If league participation is low, perhaps more promotion or different formats are needed.
F&B Spend per Customer: Calculate the average food & beverage revenue per visit or per hour of simulator time. If it’s, say, £5 per person now, can you bump it to £7 with better offerings or specials? Upselling drinks and snacks can significantly impact profitability. This is basically the average customer spend beyond bay rental.
Lesson Conversion Rate: If you offer lessons, track how many bay bookings lead to a lesson booking (or vice versa). Is your golf coach generating additional practice bay hours (e.g. students coming back to practice after a lesson)? Also, track lesson revenue as a % of total – if it’s growing, great; if it’s underperforming, maybe the pro needs help marketing their services.
Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC): In your marketing, how much do you spend to acquire a new customer (first visit)? This might include Google/Facebook ads, referral incentives, etc. For example, if you run an ad campaign that costs £500 and 50 new customers came in as a result, your CAC is £10. Then consider the Customer Lifetime Value (CLV) – how much revenue does an average customer bring over time. If your typical customer spends £200 in a year in various visits, spending £10 to get them in the door is worthwhile. These marketing metrics ensure you’re investing in growth efficiently.
Retention & Reviews: Track repeat visit rate (what percentage of customers return after their first visit) and keep an eye on online reviews and ratings. While not a financial metric, high ratings on Google/TripAdvisor and strong word-of-mouth lead to organic growth (which lowers your CAC). If retention is low, investigate why – was the experience lacking, or pricing too high, etc.
Peak utilisation vs. Capacity: Are you fully booked out on Saturday afternoons? If you consistently have waitlists for peak times, it signals that you could raise rates or eventually add more bays. Conversely, if off-peak usage is very low, that signals you should ramp up promotions or alternate uses (maybe offering the space for fitness classes or other uses in off hours – get creative in monetising idle time).
By keeping a dashboard of these KPIs, you can adjust your strategy in near-real-time. For instance, if memberships plateau, maybe launch a limited-time offer or a new tier. If occupancy is lagging, step up local marketing or partnerships (e.g. with golf clubs for winter practice deals). Remember, data-driven decisions will help optimise your business model over hunches. Indoor golf may be a new industry, but treat it like any professional operation – measure, analyse, and react.
You’ve seen the opportunity: a growing market, multiple revenue streams, and a path to profits by combining golf, tech, and hospitality. If your entrepreneurial spirit is tingling and you’re ready to launch the hottest indoor golf club in town, the next steps are planning and execution.
GolfBays is here to help you make it happen. We’ve equipped countless indoor golf centres and we have everything you need – from state-of-the-art simulators and enclosures to turf, screens, and accessories. More importantly, we bring expertise. Launching a golf-sim venue is a complex project, but you don’t have to go it alone.
Ready to turn that dream into a reality? Get in touch with the GolfBays team and let’s start building your indoor golf business!
You can also read our guide on equipping a commercial golf venue.
Golf coaching is undergoing a quiet revolution, powered by data and ball tracking technology. In the UK alone, the market for launch monitors and simulators is booming. On top of a rise in commercial venues that make golf accessible to anyone, coaches are embracing the tech to enhance lessons and keep students engaged year-round.
The PGA has even jumped on board, partnering with Foresight Sports to equip coaches with launch monitors and help its members generate more teaching revenue. Developments like this confirm a clear trend: data-driven golf coaching isn’t a futuristic concept. It’s here now, and it’s transforming both teaching outcomes and business opportunities.
Bad weather or short winter days are no longer obstacles. From rural academies to indoor golf lessons in London basements, more pros are installing simulators and launch monitors to extend the teaching season.
For coaches and commercial venues, now is the time to turn to the latest technology to boost your students’ success on the course - and yours on the balance sheet.
One of the greatest benefits of modern launch monitors is the wealth of clear, actionable data they bring.
But as a coach, you’ll know that data is only useful if your students understand it. To maximise the impact of launch monitor tech in your lessons, it’s best to focus on a handful of key metrics that are easy for pupils to grasp. Here are seven core stats every golf pupil and coach can use during lessons.
Ball Speed: This is how fast the ball flies off the clubface immediately after impact. Ball speed is the engine of distance – increase it, and you increase how far the ball can carry down the range or fairway. It’s directly related to swing speed and solid contact on the club’s sweet spot. In fact, ball speed is considered the single biggest factor for maximising distance. Coaches often emphasise boosting ball speed through better contact and technique rather than brute force, since finding the centre of the clubface can dramatically improve ball speed without needing a faster swing.
Clubhead Speed: This measures how fast the club is moving at the moment of impact. Naturally, a higher swing speed can lead to higher ball speed and more distance. But every coach will know that chasing swing speed alone can do more harm than good. The latest launch monitors give you a play by play of every swing so that you can find efficient speed gains through better mechanics.
Smash Factor: Smash factor is the ratio of ball speed to clubhead speed – essentially a measure of how efficiently energy is transferred from the club to the ball.
A higher smash factor means the player typically indicates solid, centre-face contact. By focusing on improving smash factor (by hitting the sweet spot more consistently), your pupils will hit longer shots without swinging any harder.
Launch Angle: Launch angle is the angle at which the ball takes off relative to the ground. If the launch is too low, the shot might come out as a bullet and rob the player of carry distance; too high, and it can balloon up and lose distance in the wind.
Optimising launch angle for each club is crucial for maximising distance and control. By using a launch monitor, you can show students if they’re hitting, say, a 7-iron too low, or help them tweak driver setup to hit the ideal launch window.
Spin Rate: Spin rate is how many revolutions per minute the ball is spinning after it leaves the clubface. This has a huge effect on shot height and stopping power. Too much spin, and a driver shot can “balloon” up, flying high but not far. Too little spin, and an iron or wedge might fly flat and roll out when you needed it to hold the green. As a coach, you can use spin data to explain why a student’s shots behave a certain way. For example, if their drives are floating sky-high into the wind and falling short, the launch monitor might reveal an excessive spin rate causing the issue.
Angle of Attack (AoA): AoA describes whether the club is travelling downward or upward into the ball at impact (measured in degrees). A positive AoA means the club is moving up – usually desirable with a driver off a tee, to launch it higher with less backspin. A negative AoA means the club is moving down – which is what you want with irons and wedges, to compress the ball against the turf for a descending strike. In lessons, we often find that a golfer’s AoA helps explain their ball flight. A driver hit with a steep negative AoA might launch too low and spin too much. An iron hit with a positive AoA might lead to thin shots or high floaters. Angle of attack directly influences launch angle and distance, so it’s a key number for diagnosing why someone’s shots are flying too high or too low. By showing a student their AoA on the launch monitor, you can connect the dots to what they feel in their swing.
7. Dispersion: Dispersion measures the spread of a player’s shots relative to the target. In other words, if they hit 10 shots, how tight is the grouping? Think of it as a simple indicator of consistency and accuracy – a smaller dispersion means the golfer’s shots are landing closer to their intended line and distance on average. On a launch monitor or simulator, dispersion is often visualised as an ellipse or cluster on the screen, making it easy to see. This is incredibly motivating for pupils: they love seeing that circle tighten up as they practice. Helping golfers track their dispersion over time is a great way to show improvement in accuracy and repeatability.
By focusing your coaching around these core metrics, you can give pupils clear goals and turn hard-to-grasp concepts into tangible numbers. When golfers know their numbers, they understand their own games on a deeper level, and improvement accelerates.
Data by itself can be dry or overwhelming, so it’s up to coaches to turn launch monitor stats into a compelling story of improvement. This is where you can truly shine and differentiate your coaching service.
We like to think of a launch monitor as not just a measuring device, but a storytelling tool. For example, imagine showing a student a before-and-after snapshot: a side-by-side comparison of their launch monitor session from three months ago versus today. In the old data, their ball speed might have been 120 mph; now it’s 130 mph. Back then, their smash factor was 1.35; now it’s 1.45. Their shot dispersion circle has shrunk from 30 yards wide to 15. Presented visually, those numbers tell a powerful and motivating story. The pupil isn’t just hearing you say they improved; they can see it for themselves.
Many launch monitor software systems let you save session data and even print or email summary reports with just a few clicks. Take advantage of these features to reinforce your lessons. After a practice session, you might generate a quick report highlighting the key metrics discussed above. Improvements can be highlighted in green and areas that need work in red, creating an easy-to-read “report card” that the student can take home. Some coaches will even bring a tablet to lessons to show historical data or will email a PDF of the lesson recap afterwards. Weekly or monthly email reports are another powerful tool for keeping students engaged between lessons.
Instead of forgetting what they worked on, the student gets a reminder in their inbox of their progress and goals – they’re seeing proof of improvement regularly, not just experiencing it during the lesson. This kind of ongoing feedback loop keeps motivation high and helps students feel connected to your coaching, even on off-days.
In short, the launch monitor metrics become a running narrative of the student’s improvement. When golfers see their improvement quantified, they trust the process and are more likely to stick with coaching for the long haul. Ultimately, that means better results for them and a thriving teaching business for you.
Once you've mastered the data, how can you translate all this tech and data into teaching revenue? Answer: By crafting irresistible lesson packages that get the best out of your new tools. Here are a few template ideas that have proven popular for UK coaches:
“Swing MOT” – One-Session Diagnostic: Market this like a car’s MOT check-up, but for swings. In a single session you put the student through a comprehensive launch monitor evaluation. They get a detailed report on all the key metrics (their personal “baseline numbers”), a list of what’s in good shape and what needs fixing, and a taste of data-driven coaching. It’s an easy entry point for new clients and often leads to further lessons once they see the value.
Intensive Courses: A package of six lessons aimed at golfers with a specific goal (e.g. breaking 80, or 90, or improving handicap by X). You start and end with launch monitor skills assessments to show progress. Each lesson focuses on a data-informed objective. Students love having a clear goal and evidence of improvement at the conclusion. Before-and-after reports (with charts from your simulator software) provide that evidence.
All-Weather Membership – Ongoing Coaching + Practice: This is a monthly subscription for your die-hard students. It could include, for example, one coaching session per month plus a certain number of hours of indoor simulator bay access for independent practice. The launch monitor’s feedback makes self-practice time productive, and you as the coach check in monthly to adjust their program. Essentially, you’re offering indoor golf lessons on a flexible schedule. You can pitch it as unlimited or regular practice no matter the weather, with a coach guiding progress via data. This kind of membership keeps students engaged year-round and loyal to your facility.
By packaging your services creatively, you not only help students reach milestones but also create reliable income streams for yourself. Students who engage in structured programs tend to stick around and spend more. Even something as simple as including periodic data reports or scorecard-style progress printouts can encourage students to invest in more lessons. Engaged students equal higher revenue.
The data revolution in golf coaching is here to stay, and those who embrace it early will reap the rewards in student success and business growth.
If you’re excited by the possibilities of simulators and launch monitors but unsure how to fit them into your coaching program, we’re here to help. Book a consultation with our team and we’ll assess your needs and guide you towards the right solution.
Your journey to data-driven coaching success starts now!
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